Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Report Abuse   |   Sign In   |   Join Now
Community Search
Marvin E. Johnson Award
Share |

The Marvin E. Johnson Diversity & Equity Award was established as a tribute to Marvin Johnson, a long-time member of the Society of Professionals in Dispute Resolution (SPIDR), an ACR Board Member and a champion of diversity and equity throughout the dispute resolution field.  It recognizes a sustained, outstanding contribution or a specific extraordinary achievement that has enhanced diversity and equity within an area of society.  The award honors individuals and organizations who have successfully contributed to removing barriers or obstacles to full and equal participation at all levels of society.  Recipients are those who have contributed to bridging the divides between groups of people or have successfully created opportunities for expanded diversity and equality within an area of specialty, a community or beyond.

2018 Recipients: Judge Timothy K. Lewis

Judge Timothy K. Lewis is Of Counsel at Schnader, Harrison, Segal & Lewis and is Co-chair of Schnader’s ADR Practice Group.  He has served on the Boards of many organizations including  the American Arbitration Association (AAA) and the International Institute for Conflict Prevention and Resolution (CPR).  While on these Boards, Judge Lewis has been and continues to be an outspoken proponent for diversity within the ADR field. 

While on the AAA Board, he served as Chair of the AAA’s Diversity Committee.  Under Judge Lewis' guidance, the Diversity Committee identified three obstacles to increasing diversity in ADR (1) the erroneous belief that women and minority arbitrators are less experienced; (2) the fact that the attorneys responsible for selecting arbitrators and mediators rarely consider diversity in making these decisions; and (3) limited opportunities for women and minority arbitrators and mediators to become future leaders.  The AAA adopted  the Diversity Committee’s recommendations to overcome the obstacles, including establishing strategic alliances with organizations to identify and recruit diverse arbitrators and mediators and the establishment of the AAA's successful Higginbotham Fellows Program to provide training, networking, and mentorship for up-and-coming diverse ADR practitioners.

As Co-Chair of the CPR Diversity in ADR Task Force, Judge Lewis has revitalized the meaningful advances of the ADR Task Force which includes a corporate pledge ensuring commitment to diversity, a two year mentoring program, an apprentice program designed to further diversity among neutrals chosen to mediate or arbitrate by large corporations and the creation of an Award for Outstanding Contributions to Diversity in ADR.

Before entering private practice, Judge Lewis served on the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit and was elevated to the U.S. Court of Appeals in 1992.  He is a graduate of Tufts University and Duquesne University School of Law. 


Past Recipients:

2018 Hon. Timothy K. Lewis
2017 Dr. Terry Flowers
2016  Sandra S. Yamate
2015 Peacebuilders International (Canada) for their work with young people using restorative circles
2014 Tim Wise for his anti-race work
2013 Awarded Posthumously to Ambassador J. Christopher Stevens
2012 Chief Judge Robert M. Bell, for his diversity efforts in the a number of areas in the state of Maryland and commitment to ADR
2011 Navajo Elder James Peshlakai, for dedicating his life to the preservation of the Navajo culture
2010 Susan Collins Marks and John Marks, were honored for the international peacemaking work they do through Search for Common Ground
2009  Nelson and Joyce Johnson, the leaders of the work to create the first US Truth Commission in Greensboro, N.C.
2008 The Rev. Mpho A.Tutu, Executive Director of the Tutu Institute for Prayer and Pilgrimage., for her ministries for children in Massachusetts, for rape survivors in South Africa and for refugees. She eared her MDiv from Episcopal Divinity Schoo in Cambridge, MA.

more Calendar

Webinar:What does a community activist look for in an environmental conflict resolution practitioner

Webinar: The Purple Path

Featured Members

Membership Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal