Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Report Abuse   |   Sign In   |   Join Now
Community Search
Sharon M. Pickett Award
Share |

The Sharon M. Pickett Award is granted in recognition of  an ACR member who has advanced the cause of environmental protection through the effective use of alternative dispute resolution.  It was established in honor of Sharon Pickett who, in addition to serving as a family mediator and trainer, was an ardent advocate for environmental issues.

Before becoming a mediator, Sharon was Director of Communications for three national nonprofit organizations as well as a communications consultant for several progressive nonprofit organizations, including the Sierra Club, the Union of Concerned Scientists, the Center for International Environmental Law, and Physicians for Social Responsibility.  Sharon’s mediation practice focused on family and divorce mediation and she worked as a co-mediator and trainer with Mediation Matters, in Bethesda, Maryland.  She was a certified mediator with the Maryland Council on Dispute Resolution and was instrumental in developing its performance-based certification process as a member of its Certification Committee.

Sharon was hired by ACR to work with staff on a wide range of projects before and after the 2000 merger which created ACR.  She helped create ACResolution Magazine and edited every issue from its founding until she resigned for health reasons in September 2007.  For all her professional contributions, it was her spirit that touched people. She was easy-going, kind, compassionate, and gentle - combined with a fierce love of life and a wonderful combination of funny crazy and serious, bright sides. An ACR colleague wrote:

You could always count on her for wisdom… Her wisdom came from her incredible capacity to seek out life in all of its richness, and never to shy away from a challenge. An academic dean, a magician's assistant, a mediator, a grandmother, and a rock musician, Sharon wore more hats in her life than most of us could in several lifetimes.

Review the criteria for the Sharon M. Pickett Award.

2019 Recipient: Gary Nahban

Past Recipients:
2018   Deborah S. Dalton
2017   Kirk Emerson & Tina Nabatchi
2016   Jerry Cormick
2015   Lucy Moore
2013   John Jostes
2012   Frank Dukes
2011   Marcelle DuPraw
2010   Sarah Alexander
2008   Alice Shorett

more Calendar

Webinar: EPP: Then, Now and Next?

Featured Members
Membership Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal